M1.2.1: WHO AM I?

Whenever I’m asked to describe myself, I instantly tense up and alongside that, my brain freezes. Where to begin? What is it you want to know about me? Is what I’m about to share with you of any value to you? These 4-words: “Tell me about yourself” is, in my opinion, one of the most intimidating things to be asked.

So as I stated earlier, where to begin?
First off, my name is Riah Vriens, I am 20 years old, and a fourth year Business Communications student at Brock University. I am a only child from Niagara-on-the-Lake that was bribed with a vehicle to not leave town for University. First year I commuted back and fourth from home to Brock for class; I made a few friends in residence at the time, but overall l felt like I wasn’t experiencing post-secondary to its fullest potential. After first year, I moved into a student house with some friends and ever since, I haven’t wanted to go home (don’t tell my Dad this, he’ll start calling me twice a day instead of once). Anyways, now that I’m living in a house with 5 other girls I’m absolutely loving Brock and all it has to offer. This year in particular I’m happy with my small class sizes and the ‘seminar’ feel they give off. This links to the fact that I am a social butterfly. I’m known to have what my mom refers to as: “verbal diarrhea,” meaning I always have something to say. I think this trait will help me throughout this course as I continue to add opinions and insight to my first ever blog!

A couple other things I might as well mention…I’ve worked at a Winery in Niagara the past two years, so if you ever need to de-stress, I’m your girl. Other than that, I enjoy Electronic Dance Music, being outdoors, and aimlessly browsing the internet for funny home videos.

Aside from that, I am too excited for words to get started with this media literacy course, but since everything is online I have no choice but to use text to show my excitement. As you can probably tell from all this blabbing, this is my first online course. I look forward to it helping me express myself and communicate more comfortably in the virtual world. It is necessary that I learn more about the deep and dark corners of social media so I can use it in the future to benefit the organization I end up working for.

I’d say I refer to Twitter the most during the day. Instagram, and Facebook maybe once or twice. These social media sites are easily accessed from my phone and laptop. I wouldn’t say social media is important to me nor do i depend on it. Sure, I would feel a little on the outside or unaware of events, meetings, hangouts, etc., but I tend to only use these sites to fill time when I’m bored. I hope this course lets me learn to appreciate new media, social media, and all its forms and uses in today’s society.

Oh! Before I go, I have to add a little *FUN FACT* about myself my name is hair spelled backwards. I probably just learned that myself a couple of years ago, I just thought it was something neat to share.

 

Leave a Reply

